Jagodzinske, Potts hit milestones in No. 3 Red Bulls’ dual-meet win

Lucas Jagodzinske

NEW ULM — Two Red Bulls collected milestone wins and Martin County won 11 consecutive matches to build a 60-15 win over the New Ulm Eagles in Big South Conference wrestling action Tuesday in New Ulm.

Class AA No. 3-ranked Martin County’s No. 3-ranked 138-pounder Lucas Jagodzinske racked up his 150th career win when he pinned Wyatt Pollard in 1:02, while No. 9-ranked 120-pounder Jesse Potts earned his 75th career victory with a fall over Winsten Nienhaus in 1:29.

Potts’ fall triggered the Red Bulls’ consecutive run of winning decisions.

Martin County’s No. 1-ranked 126-pounder Jaxson Rohman forced a technical fall in 2:15 against Isaiah Rieser, then No. 8-ranked 132-pounder Kain Sanders earned a 17-4 major decision over Marqavion Haefner.

Lucas Jagodzinske was next up, then Aden Welcome continued the run at 145 pounds with a pin of Ryan Wiltscheck in 3:56.

No. 2-ranked 145-pounder Connor Simmonds moved up to 152 and took a forfeit for the Red Bulls before Carver Rohman received a forfeit at 160.

In the lone clash of ranked wrestlers, No. 4-ranked 160-pounder Blake Jagodzinske moved up to 170 pounds to face New Ulm’s No. 7-ranked 170-pounder Cole Ranweiler. Blake Jagodzinske ended the matchup early with a pin of Ranweiler in 4:32.

Gage Cyphers continued the Red Bulls’ run with a 5-1 decision over Dylen Carreon at 182 pounds, then Max Olson earned six more points for the Red Bulls at 195 pounds with a pin of Caleb Arndt in 2:21.

Tristan Peterson earned the final win of Martin County’s run by receiving a forfeit at 220 pounds.

New Ulm started the dual with a quick lead when Parker Kamm pinned Martin County’s 106-pounder Rylan Cutler in 1:22.

Logan Lee put New Ulm up 9-0 with a 3-2 decision over Cooper Steuber during 113-pound action.

Jaden Drill earned New Ulm’s final points with a pin of Alec Thompson in 3:43 at heavyweight.

Martin County (17-1) travels to Marshall for Big South triangular action at 5 p.m. Thursday against St. James Area and Marshall.

Martin County 60,

New Ulm 15

106: Parker Kamm (NU) pinned Rylan Cutler, 1:22.

113: Logan Lee (NU) dec. Cooper Steuber, 3-2.

120: Jesse Potts (MC) pinned Winsten Nienhaus, 1:29.

126: Jaxson Rohman (MC) tech. fall Isaiah Rieser, 2:15.

132: Kain Sanders (MC) major dec. Marqavion Haefner, 17-4.

138: Lucas Jagodzinske (MC) pinned Wyatt Pollard, 1:02.

145: Aden Welcome (MC) pinned Ryan Wiltscheck, 3:56.

152: Connor Simmonds (MC) won by forfeit.

160: Carver Rohman (MC) won by forfeit.

170: Blake Jagodzinske (MC) pinned Cole Ranweiler, 4:32.

182: Gage Cyphers (MC) dec. Dylen Carreon, 5-1.

195: Max Olson (MC) pinned Caleb Arndt, 2:21.

220: Tristan Peterson (MC) won by forfeit.

285: Jaden Drill (NU) pinned Alec Thompson, 3:43.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today