Pfingsten wins Interlaken title

FAIRMONT — Mitch Pfingsten captured the 2017 Interlaken Golf Club’s men’s championship on Sunday at the Fairmont-based golf course.

Pfingsten carded a 174 to win the championship flight by five shots over club runner-up Mike Buntjer’s 179.

Parker Oleson garnered third place in the championship flight with a 181, while Chad Strauser pocketed fourth at 186.

Interlaken senior champion Rick Libby shot a 158 to claim first place in the first flight, while Ron Kallheim and Jason Hybbert tied for second with 161s.

Jeff DeWar penciled in a 160 to pocket the second flight, Ron Malchow netted second at 162, while Rick Thate, John Korsmo and Bill Supalla battled to a three-way tie for third at 164.

Dale Ratcliff produced a first-place 175 to take the third flight by two shots over Randi Martinson and Todd Edgington.

Roger Geiger netted low-gross honors with 182 in the fourth flight, while Bruce Peters won low-net honors at 145.

George Jones placed first in the gold tees flight’s low gross at 164, Ken Carlson pocketed best low-net honors at 135, while Bob Strom and Lowell Flohrs shared second low-net scores at 140.

Ramon places 2nd in 18 & U

FAIRMONT — Iliana Ramon finished the 5-mile race in 35 minutes, 51 seconds for second place among girls 18 and under, and third overall among female runners, during the 39th annual Fairmont Summer Run on Saturday.

Fairmont Summer Run

5-Mile Results

Top 5 Finishers (Female): 1. Lana Wegner (Wells) 32:15; 2. Laura Thompson (Fairmont) 35:40; 3. Iliana Ramon (Fairmont) 35:51; 4. Brooke Nelson (Armstrong) 36:14; 5. Leah Hartung (Fairmont) 36:22.

Top 5 Finishers (Male): 1. Logan Knutson (Heron Lake) 28:54; 2. Grant Strukel (Huntley) 30:07; 3. Josh Sundblad (Fairmont) 30:24; 4. Andrew Moeller (Fairmont) 30:49; 5. Nathan Willett (Fairmont) 32:02.

2-Mile Results

Top 5 Finishers (Female): 1. Jennifer Bromeland (Jackson) 12:26; 2. Hannah Neusch (Fairmont) 14:06; 3. Lizzy Subbert (Fairmont) 14:22; 4. Tonya Klunder (Lewisville) 15:06; 5. Eleanor Hamlet (Fairmont) 15:35.

Top 5 Finishers (Male): 1. Penn Sagedahl (Hopkins) 10:53; 2. Carson Kahler (Sherburn) 11:22; 3. Kolton Larson (Sherburn) 11:40; 4. Isaiah Peters (Ogden, Utah) 11:44; 5. Justin McMurtry (Fairmont) 11:54.

Northrop 12U wins state title

NORTHROP — The Northrop 12U baseball team compiled a 4-1 record to win the ‘A’ bracket of the Minnesota Sports Federation’s state tournament in Sartell over the weekend.

Lakeville North edged Northrop in opening-round action, 6-5, before Northrop bounced back to reel off four consecutive wins: 14-4 over Marshall, 18-2 over Tracy-Milroy, 13-6 over Jackson and 12-11 over Le Sueur-Henderson in the finals.

Northrop (22-8-1) qualified for the MSF state tourney by compiling a 4-1 record during a 40-team event in Prior Lake July 22-23.