No. 8 Red Bulls trample way to TCU team title

LE CENTER — The Class AA No. 8-ranked Martin County Red Bulls crowned six individual champions to trample their way to the Tri-City United regular-season wrestling invitational’s championship on Saturday.

The Red Bulls generated a first-place total of 172.5 points, host TCU netted runner-up accolades with 110.5, Mankato East placed third at 72, Le Sueur-Henderson finished fourth at 62.5, while Sibley East was fifth with 57.5.

Carver Rohman, Max Olson and Rylan Cutler — all three of the Red Bulls’ ranked grapplers — along with teammates Pierce Rohman, Aden Welcome and Taylor Austin merited gold medals in their respective weight divisions.

No. 3-ranked 160-pounder Carver Rohman coasted to three consecutive decisions to garner the 160-pound crown.

Rohman opened with a fall in 1:39 over fellow Red Bull wrestler Ty Kolbe before amassing a 22-6 technical fall over LSH’s Wyatt Genelin during Round 2.

The Bulls’ senior standout then earned the slap of the canvas over Sibley East’s Jathan Mendoza in 3:53 during the third and final round.

Ironically, Max Olson spent only a miniscule total of 21 seconds on the mat to record back-to-back pins during 220-pound action.

The No. 3-ranked 220-pound Red Bull senior flattened teammate David Miller in 5 seconds in the opening round before downing LSH’s George Doherty in second-round action in 16 seconds. Olson struck gold in the light heavyweight division by outpointing TCU’s Marco Reyes in the finals, 6-2.

No. 8-ranked 120-pounder Rylan Cutler reeled off four consecutive wins to pocket the 126-pound championship.

Cutler disposed of TCU’s Nathan Blaschko in 1:59 in opening-round action before pressing TCU opponent Riley Skluzacek’s shoulders to the mat in 1:06.

Cutler recorded his third consecutive fall by downing Sibley East’s Christian Sotelo in 2:15 before posting a 17-2 technical fall over LSH’s Waylon Thieke to earn the gold medal.

Taylor Austin and Cooper Steuber packed a 1-2 scoring punch, respectively, for the Red Bulls during 152-pound action.

Austin pinned Sibley East’s Owen Utendorfer in 1:25 to open action, while Steuber netted a 3-0 decision over Mankato East’s Elliott Betz.

Steuber generated a 7-2 second-round win over Utendorfer, while Austin rolled to a 13-4 major decision over Betz.

Austin and Steuber battled down the wire for the 152-pound crown, with Austin exiting the canvas with a 3-1 victory in hand.

Pierce Rohman ran the gauntlet during 106-pound action, winning four consecutive matches to earn a title for Martin County.

Rohman posted a 12-4 major decision over Mankato East’s Jackson Buboltz in first-round action before earning a 4-1 second-round victory over TCU’s Tucker Skluzacek.

Rohman kept his winning streak going by earning a 19-4 technical fall over Mankato East’s Jackson Stensrud in Round 3 before pinning Sibley East’s Tanner Johnson in 2:59 for the championship.

Aden Welcome added the 145-pound crown for the Red Bulls by winning both of his matches.

Welcome needed just 55 seconds to pin TCU’s Brant Lemieux before outlasting Mankato East’s Ben Glogowski by a 3-2 decision in the three-man bracket.

Gage Cyphers posted a pair of wins to claim second place in the four-wrestler 170-pound bracket for the Red Bulls.

Cyphers opened with a fall over TCU’s Kaden Malecha in 1:15 before flattening LSH’s Andy Genelin in 1:15 during the second match.

Mankato East’s Max Morgan then edged Cyphers by a 12-8 decision during the battle of undefeateds at 170 pounds.

The Red Bulls (7-0) play host to New Ulm and Redwood Valley in a triangular starting at 5 p.m. Thursday at Cardinal Gym in Fairmont.

Host Martin County will compete in the second and third dual meets of the tripleheader.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.65/week.

Subscribe Today