Red Bulls place 2nd at Class AA state team wrestling tournament

BARRING THE ARM — Martin County Red Bulls wrestler Lucas Jagodzinske (top) bars the arm of Simley’s Cory Primeau during 120-pound action in the Class AA state team championship meet on Friday night at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul. Jagodzinske went on to post a 10-2 major decision over Primeau. (Photo by Greg Abel)

ST. PAUL — For the second time in three years, the Martin County Red Bulls are taking home silver medals from the Minnesota State High School League team state wrestling tournament.

The No. 3-ranked and second-seeded Red Bulls put together wins of 53-15 and 32-30 over Orono and Foley, respectively, before falling to No. 1-ranked Simley 48-10 in the Class AA championship match Friday night.

A string of three Red Bulls were the only Martin County competitors to beat their Simley opponents.

No. 3-ranked 120-pounder Lucas Jagodzinske fought to a 10-2 major decision over Cory Primeau. Lucas Jagodzinske used three takedowns, an escape and a stalling point to build his lead.

Then, No. 2-ranked 126-pounder Jaxson Rohman upset No. 1-ranked Chase DeBlaere with a 7-4 decision.

After falling to DeBlaere in last year’s state individual 120-pound championship, Rohman took DeBlaere to the mat three times and escaped from the down starting position in the second period to get revenge.

No. 7-ranked 132-pounder Blake Jagodzinske won the Red Bulls their final points with a 6-0 decision over James Diaz Lopez. Blake Jagodzinske nearly earned six points with a near fall at the end of the second period, but built a 6-point lead with two stalling points in the final segment.

Simley went on to score 40 consecutive points to take the championship.

Martin County head coach Adam Williamson said the Red Bulls checked off a big season goal.

“It gets to be kind of an emotional rollercoaster, but overall I’m just really pleased with how the guys wrestled and I’m really proud of how the guys performed throughout the day,” Williamson said. “It’s a long day, we got going with a big win right away, got through a real close dual in the semifinals and we met another one of our big goals. ‘Let’s get back to state and let’s get back to the finals and see what we can do.'”

The Red Bulls went ahead 26-0 against No. 4-ranked Foley in the semifinals before the Falcons stormed back.

Martin County built its lead with six consecutive wins. No. 5-ranked 106-pounder Jesse Potts worked his way to a 14-0 major decision over Cyler Ruhoff, No. 7-ranked 113-pounder Kain Sanders fought to a 6-1 decision over No. 10-ranked Levi Jacobson and Lucas Jagodzinske earned a 13-4 major decision over Alex Jennissen.

Rohman continued the Red Bulls’ run with a pin of Caden Ruhoff in 5:35, then Blake Jagodzinske pinned Daniel Halverson in 5:16 before No. 2-ranked 138-pounder Connor Simmonds fought to a 6-0 decision over Micheal Rothfork.

No. 6-ranked 145-pounder Logan Thorsten ended the Red Bulls’ string of wins when he took a 6-5 overtime decision over Cale Steuber at 145 pounds, but No. 2-ranked 152-pounder Payton Anderson earned the Red Bulls three more with a 10-5 decision over No. 8-ranked Isaiah Fitch.

No. 6-ranked 160-pounder Miles Fitzgerald was forced to injury default, then No. 7-ranked 160-pounder Connor Thorsten pinned No. 7-ranked 170-pounder Nathan Simmonds in 3:38 to bring the Falcons back within 29-15 after the 170-pound bout.

Andy Knutson fought to an 8-5 decision over Max Olson at 182 to keep Foley alive, but No. 6-ranked 195-pounder Jacob Rahn sealed the Red Bulls’ win with a 5-1 decision over No. 7-ranked 195-pounder Hunter Gorecki.

Greg Miller (220) pinned Shayne Steinbrink in 1:52 and No. 4-ranked heavyweight Elijah Novak (285) pinned Everardo Hernandez in 1:28 to close the dual.

Orono, the surprise team coming into the tournament by entering with only a 9-12 dual meet record, did not give the Red Bulls much trouble in the quarterfinals.

Cooper Steuber started the matchup with a 6-0 decision before Sanders won a 9-5 decision and Lucas Jagodzinske pinned Blake Ament in 1:23. Rohman pinned Eli McKown in 2:54, Blake Jagodzinske pinned Gustavo Cano Garnica in 1:54 and Connor Simmonds pinned Matt Jandl in 27 seconds.

Cale Steuber then worked to earn a 5-4 decision before Anderson pinned Oliver Stevenson in 1:14 and Fitzgerald pinned Brady McPherson in 45 seconds.

Nathan Simmonds built a 15-0 technical fall over John McCuskey and Olson claimed a 12-7 decision. Orono won the final three matches via a decision and two pins, respectively.

No. 9-ranked 195-pounder David Wilfert won a 7-6 decision over Rahn, top-ranked 220-pounder Danny Striggow (220) pinned Steinbrink in 16 seconds and Shea Albrecht (285) pinned Hernandez in 1:10.

Nine Red Bulls return to the Xcel Energy Center at 9 a.m. today to open the Class AA state individual tournament in St. Paul.

Class AA Quarterfinals

Martin County 53, Orono 15

106: Cooper Steuber (MC) dec. Daniel Musgjerd, 6-0. 113: Kain Sanders (MC) dec. Mason Pankonin, 9-5. 120: Lucas Jagodzinske (MC) pinned Blake Ament, 1:23. 126: Jaxson Rohman (MC) pinned Eli McKown, 2:54. 132: Blake Jagodzinske (MC) pinned Gustavo Cano Garnica, 1:54. 138: Connor Simmonds (MC) pinned Matt Jandl, 0:27. 145: Cale Steuber (MC) dec. Jacob Schmid, 5-4. 152: Payton Anderson (MC) pinned Oliver Stevenson, 1:14. 160: Miles Fitzgerald (MC) pinned Brady McPherson, 0:45. 170: Nathan Simmonds (MC) tech. fall, John McCuskey, 15-0. 182: Max Olson (MC) dec. Johnny Harstad, 12-7. 195: David Wilfert (ORO) dec. Jacob Rahn, 7-6. 220: Danny Striggow (ORO) pinned Shayne Steinbrink, 0:16. 285: Shea Albrecht (ORO) pinned Everardo Hernandez, 1:10.

Class AA Semifinals

Martin County 32, Foley 30

106: Jesse Potts (MC) major dec. Cyler Ruhoff, 14-0. 113: Kain Sanders (MC) dec. Levi Jacobson, 6-1. 120: Lucas Jagodzinske (MC) major dec. Alex Jennissen, 13-4. 126: Jaxson Rohman (MC) pinned Caden Ruhoff, 5:35. 132: Blake Jagodzinske (MC) pinned Daniel Halverson, 5:16. 138: Connor Simmonds (MC) dec. Micheal Rothfork, 6-0. 145: Logan Thorsten (FOL) dec. Cale Steuber, 6-5 OT. 152: Payton Anderson (MC) dec. Isaiah Fitch, 10-5. 160: Michael Moulzolf (FOL) won by injury default over Miles Fitzgerald. 170: Connor Thorsten (FOL) pinned Nathan Simmonds, 3:38. 182: Andy Knutson (FOL) dec. Max Olson, 8-5. 195: Jacob Rahn (MC) dec. Hunter Gorecki, 5-1. 220: Greg Miller (FOL) pinned Shayne Steinbrink, 1:52. 285: Elijah Novak (FOL) pinned Everardo Hernandez, 1:28.

Class AA Championship

Simley 48, Martin County 10

106: Cash Raymond (SIM) dec. Jesse Potts, 9-3. 113: Reid Nelson (SIM) tech. fall Kain Sanders, 15-0. 120: Lucas Jagodzinske (MC) major dec. Cory Primeau, 10-2. 126: Jaxson Rohman (MC) dec. Chase DeBlaere, 7-4. 132: Blake Jagodzinske (MC) dec. James Diaz Lopez, 6-0. 138: Cael Berg (SIM) dec. Connor Simmonds, 4-3. 145: Ryan Sokol (SIM) tech. fall Cale Steuber, 21-6. 152: Travis Dohmen (SIM) dec. Payton Anderson, 3-1. 160: Nolan Wanzek (SIM) won by forfeit. 170: Gavin Nelson (SIM) dec. Nathan Simmonds, 7-3. 182: Landan Duval (SIM) pinned Max Olson, 1:56. 195: Quayin Short (SIM) dec. Jacob Rahn, 5-2. 220: Victor Flores pinned Shayne Steinbrink, 3:39. 285: Bennett Tabor (SIM) pinned Everardo Hernandez, 0:34.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today