Red Bulls stampede St. Peter in BSC tilt

ST PETER — The Class AA No. 2-ranked Martin County Red Bulls collected six pins on their way to a 58-9 Big South Conference wrestling win over the St. Peter Saints on Thursday night in St. Peter.

Cooper Steuber got the Red Bulls’ scoring started during the dual in St. Peter. Steuber took a 5-2 win over Nakiye Mercado at 106 pounds, then a string of pins gave the Red Bulls a massive lead.

No. 10-ranked 113-pounder Kain Sanders pinned Taylen Travaille in 4:28 before No. 3-ranked 120-pounder Lucas Jagodzinske needed only 2:43 to earn a slap of the mat against Amir Loredo-Hollon.

No. 2-ranked 126 pounder Jaxson Rohman shoved Noah Hunt’s shoulders to the mat in 3:46, then Blake Jagodzinske kept the run going at 132 pounds with a pin of Brogan Hanson in 2:01.

No. 2-ranked 138-pounder Connor Simmonds earned the final pin of the sequence, forcing a slap of the mat against Nathan Fogal in 1:01.

Carver Rohman took a 10-6 decision at 152 pounds to earn the Red Bulls three points, then No. 2-ranked 152-pounder Payton Anderson earned an 11-2 major decision over his 160-pound opponenet, Kole Guth.

Max Olson earned the sixth pin of the day for the Red Bulls when he shoved Connor Travaille’s shoulders to the mat in 51 seconds.

Jacob Rahn, 220, and Shayne Steinbrink, 285, claimed forfeit wins for the Red Bulls to build their 58 points.

No. 10-ranked 145-pounder Michael Connor earned the Saints their first points of the day at when he took a 7-5 decision over Cale Steuber.

In a battle of top-4 170 pounders, the Saints’ No. 3-ranked Eli Hunt pinned No. 4-ranked Nathan Simmonds in 1:40.

The teams agreed to not wrestle a 195-pound match.

The Red Bulls travel to Worthington for the Big South Conference Meet starting at 10 a.m. Saturday.

Varsity Meet Results

Martin County 58

St. Peter 9

106: Cooper Steuber (MC) dec. Nakiye Mercado, 5-2.

113: Kain Sanders (MC) pinned Taylen Travaille, 4:28.

120: Lucas Jagodzinske (MC) pinned Amir Loredo-Hollon, 2:43.

126: Jaxson Rohman (MC) pinned Noah Hunt, 3:46.

132: Blake Jagodzinske (MC) pinned Brogan Hanson, 2:01.

138: Connor Simmonds (MC) pinned Nathan Fogal, 1:01.

145: Michael Connor (SP) dec. Cale Steuber, 7-5.

152: Carver Rohman (MC) dec. Cole Filand, 10-6.

160: Payton Anderson (MC) major dec. Kole Guth, 11-2.

170: Eli Hunt (SP) pinned Nathan Simmonds, 1:40.

182: Max Olson (MC) pinned Connor Travaille, 0:51.

195: Double forfeit.

220: Jacob Rahn (MC) won by forfeit.

285: Shayne Steinbrink (MC) won by forfeit.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.35/week.

Subscribe Today