Martins stampede Bulls in amateur baseball, 9-4

FULL EXTENSION — Fairmont Martins catcher Dustin Sobolik (left) fully extends while making a diving tag on Jackson runner Shad Wacker during a second-inning rundown near third base on Monday night at Herb Wolf Field in Fairmont. Martins third baseman Ethan Hurn (middle right) and pitcher Josh Smith watch the putout. (Photo by Charlie Sorrells)

FAIRMONT — Fairmont right-hander Josh Smith pitched five solid innings, the Martins erupted for five fourth-inning runs on seven hits and the hometown bullpen took care of the rest Monday night.

Smith scattered six hits and registered seven strikeouts to earn the win, while relievers Jon Traetow and Tyler Tennyson combined for six strikeouts in preserving Fairmont’s 9-4 victory over the Jackson Bulls during amateur baseball action at Herb Wolf Field.

While Smith hurled three shutout innings to open the First Nite League clash in Fairmont, leadoff batter Spencer Chirpich triggered the Martins’ initial three-run offensive outburst in the bottom of the third inning.

Chirpich, who combined equally with No. 9 batter Dustin Sobolik to produce six of the hometown batting order’s 15 hits, lined a leadoff single up the middle. Tennyson lined a one-out single to right before Chirpich circled the bases when Traetow’s hard-hit grounder to first base was misplayed.

With runners on the corners, Levi Becker drilled an RBI single to left before teammate Blake Crawmer duplicated the performance to extend Fairmont’s margin to 3-0.

Blaise Jacobsen singled home Shad Wacker with two outs in the top of the fourth to break the ice for the Bulls. Wacker walked, stole second and motored to the plate on Jacobsen’s RBI hit to shallow center.

Sobolik then displayed his skills in the batter’s box by bookending the Martins’ ensuing five-run eruption with two hits during the same frame. Sobolik singled before courtesy runner Matt Lytle wheeled to third base on Chirpich’s double to the left-center gap. Both runners stayed put when Tennyson drew a one-out walk from Jackson reliever Kevin Holm.

Traetow cranked a two-run single to deep center that the Bulls outfielder mishandled to allow Tennyson to score all the way from first base and Traetow to pull into third on the hit.

Levi Becker blasted an RBI double down the left-field line, Crawmer lined a run-scoring single, while Lance Becker and Sobolik followed with back-to-back hits with the Martins ahead 8-1.

Andy Wolf then scratched out a run for the Bulls in the fifth. Wolf, who went 2-for-5, singled and motored to second on the Martins left fielder’s error, advanced 90 feet on a wild pitch and scored on Ryan Rasche’s RBI infield hit to second.

Lance Becker and Sobolik delivered back-to-back doubles in the bottom of the seventh to add a solo tally for Fairmont before Jackson combined singles by Chris Gumto and Darrius Johnson with an RBI double by Wacker to answer with one run in the top of the eighth.

Tennyson struck out two in working the top of the ninth to seal Fairmont’s victory. Smith allowed three runs — only one earned — on six hits in five innings to earn the win. Smith displayed stellar control by fanning seven and issuing only one walk.

Traetow gave up one run on three hits, struck out four and did not issue a walk in three yeoman innings of relief for Fairmont.

Rasche allowed three runs — just one earned — on five hits in three innings pitched to take the loss. The Bulls’ left-hander walked one and did not record a strikeout.

Levi Becker, Lance Becker and Crawmer each went 2-for-5 for the Martins, while Traetow, Levi Becker and Crawmer each tallied two RBIs.

The Martins play host to Lakefield at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday night at Herb Wolf Field in Fairmont, while Jackson hits the road to Lamberton tonight.

JAX 000 120 010 — 4 9 3

FMT 003 500 10x — 9 15 2

Ryan Rasche (LP), Kevin Holm (4), Pat Boggess (4), Darrius Johnson (8) and Blaise Jacobsen, Nate Monson (4). Josh Smith (WP), Jon Traetow (6), Tyler Tennyson (9, Sv) and Dustin Sobolik.

LOB–Fairmont 11, Jackson 8. 2B–Spencer Chirpich (FMT), Levi Becker (FMT), Christian Petschke (FMT), Lance Becker (FMT), Sobolik (FMT), Shad Wacker (JAX).