FHS-MCW basketball playoff tips off tonight

SHERBURN — The No. 4-seeded Martin County West Mavericks boys basketball team will play host to the No. 5-seeded Fairmont Cardinals tonight in a 7 p.m. Section 3AA, South Sub-Section quarterfinal in Sherburn.

The winner between Martin County West and Fairmont will advance to play either No. 1-seeded St. James Area or No. 8-seeded Windom Area at 6 p.m. Thursday night at a neutral site to be determined.

In the other half of tonight’s South Sub-Section basketball action, No. 2 seed Jackson County Central plays host to No. 7 seed Tracy-Milroy-Balaton at 7 p.m. in Jackson, while No. 3 seed Pipestone Area entertains No. 6 seed Luverne in a 7 p.m. quarterfinal in Pipestone.

Cardinals’ Householder tabbed all-BSC

FAIRMONT — Fairmont Area freshman Mackenzie Householder netted all-Big South Conference first-team hockey honors for the 2018-19 season.

Householder topped the Cardinals’ statistical charts in goals, assists and total points during her third varsity campaign.

Squirts hockey splits pair

FAIRMONT — The Fairmont Beemer Companies Squirt ‘A’ hockey team split a pair of tournament games last weekend in Marshall.

Gavin Kester scored a pair of unassisted goals to power Fairmont to a 2-1 win over Worthington.

Goalie Tanner Pankow made 13 saves to net the win for Beemer Companies, which delivered 23 shots on goal.

Marshall edged Fairmont, 5-3, during second-round action.

Noah Meixell tallied two goals, Klay Beemer netted one goal and one assist, while Logan Madsen and Kester each doled out one assist.

Pankow notched 18 saves for Fairmont, which had 15 shots on goal.

Beemer Companies forfeited last weekend’s third-round game due to the inclement weather.

Fairmont (13-12) travels to Marshall for a year-end tournament on Sunday, March 10.

5 gymnasts named all-BSC

WELCOME — Martin County Area landed three gymnasts on the all-Big South Conference’s East Division team, while Blue Earth Area netted two spots for the 2018-19 season.

Sophomore Sabrina Segar and the eighth-grade duo of Anna Bachenberg and Anna Utermarck represented the Magic, while eighth-grader Haley Kalis and seventh-grader Addison Armstrong represented the Bucs.

Bachenberg qualified for the Class A individual state meet on the floor exercise and balance beam, while Segar qualified for state on the floor.

3 Warriors tabbed all-TOI

ARMSTRONG — Three North Union Warriors merited spots on the 2018-19 Top of Iowa West Division basketball teams this winter.

Junior Chloe Lofstrom garnered first-team accolades for North Union, while junior teammate Brooklyn Prochniak received honorable mention status.

Senior Elliott Hagebock netted honorable mention all-conference accolades to round out the Warriors’ effort this season.