B.E. Area grapplers 2-2 on K-M tournament

Trevor Oppedal

KASSON — Blue Earth Area heavyweight Trevor Oppedal and 132-pounder Koby Nagel each compiled 4-0 individual records to help guide the Bucs to a 2-2 team mark at the Kasson-Mantorville Invitational on Saturday.

Blue Earth Area opened with a 45-28 win over Lewiston-Altura/ Rushford-Peterson, lost to Class AA No. 10-ranked Waconia by a 47-25 decision, dropped a narrow one-point meet to Caledonia/Houston by a 38-37 score, and bounced back to post a 47-33 victory over Byron.

Oppedal, who holds the No. 6 spot in the 285-pound division in Class A, received a forfeit from LARP, posted a 12-4 major decision over Waconia’s Bennett Weber, pinned C/H’s Brent Robley in a mere 2:55 and closed out the tournament with a forfeit from Byron.

Nagel opened 132-pound action with a fall over LARP’s Tyler Kryzer in 3:34, collected a 10-3 decision over Waconia’s William Burroughs, pressed C/H opponent Aaron Francis’ shoulders to the canvas in a mere 57 seconds and needed just 56 seconds to pin Byron’s William Wharton.

Davis Sunken produced a 3-0 record during the invitational for BEA. Sunken pinned Waconia’s Joshua Wagener in 1:41, received a forfeit from C/H and closed with another forfeit from Byron.

Class A No. 6-ranked 160-pounder Zach Buseman, 145-pounder Jaxen Klinkner and Jordan Huse each compiled 3-1 records for the Bucs.

Buseman shut out LARP’s Sam Puetz, 5-0, during 160-pound action, lost a 15-4 major decision to Class AA No. 1-ranked 160-pounder Tyler Wagener of Waconia, rebounded for a 9-0 major decision over C/H’s David Seymour at 152, and then pinned Byron’s Donald French in 1:23 at 152.

Klinkner opened with a 12-7 decision over LARP’s Dominic Jenkins, lost a 9-5 decision to Class AA No. 3-ranked 145-pounder Tim Stapleton of Waconia, pinned C/H’s Isaac Denstad in 3:51, and received a forfeit from Byron.

Huse took a forfeit at 220 from LARP, pinned Waconia’s Jake Fleming in 3:11, got pinned by C/H’s Payton Schott in 3:14 at 195 and bounced back to pin Byron’s John Nieman in 2:13 at 220.

Blue Earth Area plays host to Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial on Friday night in a nonconference dual meet.


Blue Earth Area 45,

Lewiston-Altura/RP 28

106: Ross Herber (LARP) pinned Caleb Beeler, 1:00.

113: Carter Jonsagaard (LARP) pinned Jacob Beeler, 4:00.

120: Gable Speltz (LARP) major dec. Jack Frundt, 12-0.

126: Max Ehrich (BEA) pinned Sam Schwendinger, 5:38.

132: Koby Nagel (BEA) pinned Tyler Kryzer, 3:34.

138: Joe Schavey (BEA) major dec. Reece Riebel, 15-2.

145: Jaxen Klinkner (BEA) dec. Dominic Jenkins, 12-7.

152: Rylee McGuire (BEA) tech. fall Jacob Meyer, 16-0.

160: Zach Buseman (BEA) dec. Sam Puetz, 5-0.

170: Ethan Sense (LARP) pinned Eric Anderson, 1:01.

182: Akeira Morrow (BEA) pinned Corbin Flynn, 2:58.

195: Noah Herber (LARP) won by forfeit.

220: Jordan Huse (BEA) won by forfeit.

285: Trevor Oppedal (BEA) won by forfeit.

Waconia 47, Blue Earth Area 25

106: Tyson Peitz (WACO) pinned Caleb Beeler, 0:42.

113: Davis Sunken (BEA) pinned Joshua Wagener, 1:41.

120: Max McEnelly (WACO) pinned Jack Frundt, 3:50.

126: James Burroughs (WACO) pinned Max Ehrich, 0:42.

132: Koby Nagel (BEA) dec. William Burroughs, 10-3.

138: Mitchell Garnatz (WACO) major dec. Joe Schavey, 13-3.

145: Timothy Stapleton (WACO) dec. Jaxen Klinkner, 9-5.

152: Tyler Wagener (WACO) major dec. Zach Buseman,15-4.

160: Cade Mueller (WACO) pinned Rylee McGuire, 0:32.

170: Jackson Boberg (WACO) pinned Eric Anderson, 0:43.

182: Akeira Morrow (BEA) pinned Luke Marquardt, 3:50.

195: Jordan Huse (BEA) pinned Jake Fleming, 3:11.

220: Jake Hawkins (WACO) won by forfeit.

285: Trevor Oppedal (BEA) major dec. Bennett Weber, 12-4.

Caledonia/Houston 38,

Blue Earth Area 37

106: Caleb Beeler (BEA) dec. Tucker Ginther, 6-2.

113: Davis Sunken (BEA) won by forfeit.

120: Jacob Cripps (CAHO) major dec. Jack Frundt, 11-3.

126: Max Ehrich (BEA) won by forfeit.

132: Koby Nagel (BEA) pinned Aaron Francis, 0:57.

138: Kyle Cavanaugh (CAHO) major dec. Joe Schavey, 16-3.

145: Jaxen Klinkner (BEA) pinned Isaac Denstad, 3:51.

152: Zach Buseman (BEA) major dec. David Seymour, 9-0.

160: Zach Schneider (CAHO) pinned Rylee McGuire, 1:49.

170: Ryan Wagner (CAHO) pinned Eric Anderson, 0:55.

182: Spencer Stemper (CAHO) pinned Akeira Morrow, 5:10.

195: Payton Schott (CAHO) pinned Jordan Huse, 3:14.

220: Mason Staggemeyer (CAHO) won by forfeit.

285: Trevor Oppedal (BEA) pinned Brent Robley, 2:55.

Blue Earth Area 47, Byron 33

106: Maxwell Petersen (BYRO) pinned Caleb Beeler, 1:40.

113: Davis Sunken (BEA) won by forfeit.

120: Jack Frundt (BEA) pinned Talon Freerksen, 3:03.

126: Mitchel Petersen (BYRO) pinned Max Ehrich, 0:54.

132: Koby Nagel (BEA) pinned William Wharton, 0:56.

138: Tyson Dean (BYRO) won by injury default over Joe Schavey.

145: Jaxen Klinkner (BEA) won by forfeit.

152: Zach Buseman (BEA) pinned Donald French, 1:23.

160: Rylee McGuire (BEA) pinned Kyle Cloutier, 1:10.

170: Kyle Stahler (BYRO) pinned Eric Anderson, 0:26.

182: Lucas Birch (BYRO) dec. Akeira Morrow, 12-8.

195: Vicente Deleon (BYRO) won by forfeit.

220: Jordan Huse (BEA) pinned John Nieman, 2:13.

285: Trevor Oppedal (BEA) won by forfeit.