FHS student wins scholarship

FAIRMONT — Morgan Hoong, Fairmont High School senior and student school board member, was awarded a scholarship from the Minnesota School Board Association during Tuesday evening’s board meeting.

Kurt Schneidawind, Executive Director of MSBA was present at the meeting and said, “the $3,000 scholarship is one of only two awarded in the state each year. It’s given away as a reward to encourage students to become involved in local government and school board, policy setting and vision setting as well.”

Linda Leiding, MSBA Director, said, “MSBA received 50 applications for the scholarship program. Five MSBA directors reviewed the applications and then they selected two winners. Out of a field of talented, high-achieving students, Morgan arose above all the rest.”

In other news, the board also heard from an elementary music teacher, Emily Labes, who had been named Fairmont Teacher of the Year. Labes teaches general music and she works with students from preschool through sixth grade.

“I work alongside plenty of people who are deserving of this award,” Labes said.

Labes admitted that the last year has been challenging, but rewarding. She said she hopes next year looks different so that they can hold performances and concerts.

“In the meantime, I will count my blessings every day, monitor the growth as well as the countless smiles while music is integrated into the daily lives of our students,” Labes said.

The board also heard from high school English teacher, Jonas Nissen, who teaches the school’s new broadcast journalism classes. The board was able to view the class’s first production.

“I have the privilege and honor of working with some fantastic students. Not only have they helped me set up this program, they have helped me set up a future for this program so that many more students can come in and find success in this program,” Nissen said.

A link to the production can be found on the school’s website at fairmont.k12.mn.us or on the school’s Facebook page.

The board accepted the following resignations:

— Jake Tietje, Principal of Program Development

— Natalie Green, Spanish teacher

The board approved the following employments:

— Emily Fett as high school nurse

— Jacquelyn Peterson, English teacher

— Madison Hennegar, elementary teacher

— Tyler Benschoter, Spanish teacher

— Claire Hagstrom, elementary teacher


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.35/week.

Subscribe Today