Martin County, Fairmont school filings continue

FAIRMONT — Three people have filed to fill the open District 2 seat on the Martin County Commission.

The seat is open following the death of Commissioner Tom Mahoney Jr.

Those who have filed are: Kyle Gustafson of 717 S. Hampton St., Jamie Bleess of 814 Day St. and James Forshee of 1306 School St.

State law requires a primary election to be held on uniform election dates in February, March, April, May, August or November if more than two candidates file for a commission seat. Because Nov. 3 is one of the uniform dates, the primary runoff will be on the general election ballot. A special election to determine a winner will take place Feb. 9.

Filing for the seat remains open through Tuesday at the courthouse.

Filing for other commission seats ended June 2, with incumbent commissioners Kathy Smith, District 3, and Steve Flohrs, District 5, facing no challengers in the Nov. 3 election.

Incumbent Elliot Belgard will face challenger Brad Buhmann for the District 1 commissioner’s seat. This district includes the city of Truman and the townships of Westford, Nashville, Center Creek, Pleasant Prairie, Fairmont and East Chain.

Filing for three Fairmont School Board seats also continues through Tuesday. So, far, incumbents — Dan Brookens, Nicole Green and Julie Laue — have filed for re-election.

The filing fee for school board candidates is $2, and filing can be completed in the superintendent’s office in Fairmont Elementary School. Office hours are 7:30 p.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays.

Candidates for school board can live anywhere in the school district. There are no wards or precincts that govern eligibility.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today