No. 4-ranked Red Bulls sweep wrestling triangular

Payton Anderson

ST. PETER — The Class AA No. 4-ranked Fairmont/Martin County West Red Bulls dominated both duals of a triangular meet at St. Peter on Thursday night.

The Red Bulls beat the St. Peter Saints by a 52-9 decision and defeated the Redwood-River Valley Badgers, 52-23, during a pair of Big South Conference meets.

Red Bulls’ No. 2-ranked 145-pounder Payton Anderson wrestled up at 152 pounds against the Saints, where he pinned Aden Kurdziolek in 1:34.

FHS/MCW’s 195-pounder Garrett Myren pinned Nathan Pettis in 3:28. No. 4-ranked 120-pounder Jaxson Rohman won a 25-10 technical fall over Noah Hunt.

Jesse Potts won an 8-0 major decision for the Red Bulls at 106 over Brogan Hanson, while Kain Sanders took a 13-11 decision for FHS/MCW over Amir Loredo-Hollon at 113 pounds.

Class AA No. 4-ranked 126-pounder Connor Simmonds won by an 11-0 major decision over the Saints’ Xavier Schugel, while the Red Bulls’ Blake Jagodzinske beat Kole Guth by a 5-4 decision in 132-pound action.

No. 3-ranked 138-pounder Jordan Wolter wrestled up at 145 pounds, where he won a 9-2 decision over Michael Connor, while the Red Bulls’ No. 4-ranked 160-pounder Nathan Simmonds beat Wareke Gillette by a 4-1 decision.

Jacob Rahn won the heavyweight match over Hayden Thole with an 8-2 decision, while No. 5-ranked 132-pounder Cale Steuber (138) and Everardo Hernandez (220) received forfeits for FHS/MCW.

The Saints’ Sage Loredo-Hollon won a 3-1 decision over No. 9-ranked 170-pounder Mario Maldonado, while Eli Hunt pinned No. 5-ranked 182-pounder Tristan Lange in 3:36.

Rohman pinned 120-pound opponent Owen Bertram in 4:44 against the Badgers, while Wolter earned a slap of the mat against 138-pound opponent Omar Arredondo.

At 145 pounds, Peyton Anderson pressed Joseph Anderson’s shoulders to the mat in 1:59 and Nathan Simmonds pinned 160-pounder Brayden Reynolds in 1:13. Maldonado stuck Andy Fischer in 5:02 to take the 170-pound match, while Lange pinned Mason Rummel in 2:14 at 182.

Potts won a 10-0 major decision at 106 over Carter Brandt, while teammate Connor Simmonds (126) won by forfeit.

The Badgers’ Damico Arredondo won a 16-5 major decision over Sanders at 113, while Tayte Harazin defeated the Red Bulls’ No. 4-ranked 152-pound Miles Fitzgerald by an 11-4 decision.

James Ploeger took the 195-pound match for RRV by pinning Myren in 2:41, the Badgers’ Kaleb Haase won a 10-1 major decision over Rahn at 220 and Chad Maddock pinned Hernandez in 43 seconds at 285.

Fairmont/Martin County West (5-0) competes in the Big South Conference individual meet at 10 a.m. Saturday in Windom.

FHS/MCW 52, St. Peter 9

106: Jesse Potts (FHS/MCW) major dec. Brogan Hanson, 8-0.

113: Kain Sanders (FHS/MCW) dec. Amir Loredo-Hollon, 13-11.

120: Jaxson Rohman (FHS/MCW) tech. fall Noah Hunt, 25-10.

126: Connor Simmonds (FHS/MCW) major dec. Xavier Schugel, 11-0.

132: Blake Jagodzinske (FHS/MCW) dec. Kole Guth, 5-4.

138: Cale Steuber (FHS/MCW) won by forfeit.

145: Jordan Wolter (FHS/MCW) dec. Michael Connor, 9-2.

152: Payton Anderson (FHS/MCW) pinned Aden Kurdziolek, 1:34.

160: Nathan Simmonds (FHS/MCW) dec. Wareke Gillette, 4-1.

170: Sage Loredo-Hollon (SP) dec. Mario Maldonado, 3-1.

182: Eli Hunt (SP) pinned Tristan Lange, 3:36.

195: Garrett Myren (FHS/MCW) pinned Nathan Pettis, 3:28.

220: Everardo Hernandez (FHS/MCW) won by forfeit.

285: Jacob Rahn (FHS/MCW) dec. Hayden Thole, 8-2.

FHS/MCW 52, RRV 23

106: Jesse Potts (FHS/MCW) major dec. Carter Brandt, 10-0.

113: Damico Arredondo (RRV) major dec. Kain Sanders, 16-5.

120: Jaxson Rohman (FHS/MCW) pinned Owen Bertram, 4:44.

126: Connor Simmonds (FHS/MCW) won by forfeit.

132: Cale Steuber (FHS/MCW) won by forfeit.

138: Jordan Wolter (FHS/MCW) pinned Omar Arredondo, 1:34.

145: Payton Anderson (FHS/MCW) pinned Joseph Anderson, 1:59.

152: Tayte Harazin (RRV) dec. Miles Fitzgerald, 11-4.

160: Nathan Simmonds (FHS/MCW) pinned Brayden Reynolds, 1:13.

170: Mario Maldonado (FHS/MCW) pinned Andy Fischer, 5:02.

182: Tristan Lange (FHS/MCW) pinned Mason Rummel, 2:14.

195: James Ploeger (RRV) pinned Garrett Myren, 2:41.

220: Kaleb Haase (RRV) major dec. Jacob Rahn, 10-1.

285: Chad Maddock (RRV) pinned Everardo Hernandez, 0:43.