Hernes delivers GW tally for Fairmont tennis

LUVERNE — Singles players Ben Hernes and Carter Klanderud captured super tiebreakers to secure the Fairmont Cardinals’ 4-3 triumph over the Luverne Cardinals during Big South Conference tennis action Tuesday.

With the dual meet knotted at 3-all, Hernes capped his comeback at No. 2 singles by winning his third-set super tiebreaker against Jim Erickson, 10-4.

Erickson won the opening set by a 6-2 decision before Hernes rallied to claim the second set via a 7-6 (7-4) regular tiebreaker.

Carter Klanderud netted a 6-3 first-set win over Mark Robinson before Luverne’s No. 1 singles player responded with a 6-1 victory in the second set. Klanderud then outslugged Robinson in overtime in the super tiebreaker, 15-13.

Vince Ficara garnered Fairmont’s third singles point by serving a 6-1, 6-3 loss to Jordan Winter at the fourth position in the lineup.

Evan Carlson and Jeb Green combined court skills at No. 3 doubles to defeat Matt Sehr and Graham Cunningham in straight sets, 6-2, 6-3.

Ethan Thorson pocketed Luverne’s only singles point by fending off Thomas Klanderud in a first-set tiebreaker, 7-6 (7-1). Thorson then outdueled Klanderud in the second set at third singles, 6-4.

Luke Jarchow and Matt Jelken teamed at first doubles to squeeze by Fairmont’s Connor Madsen and Tyrell Zieske, 6-3, 7-6 (7-4).

Cade VerSteeg and Cole Stoltenberg netted Luverne’s third team tally by collecting a 6-4, 6-2 decision over Blake Haugen and Ameya Komaragiri at No. 2 doubles.

Fairmont (8-5) awaits the pairings for the Section 1A team competition that begins on Monday at the higher seed’s home court.

JV Results

Fairmont 7, Luverne 1

Singles: Ian Fortune (F) def. Kaleb Hein, 6-4.

Doubles: Aaron Hendricks-Stuart Smick (F) def. Tyler Fick-Dillon Dump, 7-5, 6-2. Colin Schoeneman-Pierce Cunningham (L) def. Pete Ortega-Darrin Thingstad, 7-5. Pete Ortega-Darrin Thingstad (F) def. Chance Tunnissen-Blake Frahm, 6-3. Ethan Grunewald-Christo Washa (F) def. Kyle Ferguson-Elliot Stoltenberg, 6-2. Ethan Grunewald-Christo Washa (F) def. Ethan Nath-Seth Bose, 6-2. Parker Vetter-Jack Hagen (F) def. Logan Ommen-Hunter Gaffney, 6-5. Parker Vetter-Ian Fortune (F) def. Luke Thorson-Parker Carboneau, 6-2.